March 15, 2021: Friends of Terwilliger has successfully listed 115 acres of publicly owned parkland to the National Register of Historic Places. This includes the original parkway as designed in 1912 by the Olmsted Brothers, from Duniway Park to SW Capitol Hwy including, roadways, pathways, light poles, various parkway views and vegetation.
Throughout Portland, developed public parks and playgrounds are closed to limit the rate spread of Covid-19, but Terwilliger Parkway footpath and bike lanes are still open for use We can continue to walk, jog, or cycle in Terwilliger Parkway enjoying the nature and its splendid views as spring bursts forth, but let’s protect and look out for one another by practicing a few simple rules:
Thanks to everyone who attended Friends of Terwilliger’s 2019 Harvest Moon Social September 14th. The moon made a spectacular appearance but so did this Barred Owl. Eagle Point offered a wonderful vantage point to view this event.
During our recent conversations with Parkway neighbors, we learned that many walk or jog on the Parkway. And some frequently include a side trail in their route, while others are unaware of those connectors. So here’s a quick quiz for you!
Besides being a spectacular site, Eagle Point has a fascinating history. The property adjoins Terwilliger Parkway to the east and straddles the original Donation Land Claims of Elizabeth Thomas Caruthers (north) and James and Philinda Terwilliger (south); Lowell St. was the dividing line between the old claims.